United Methodist Action

UM Action works to defend biblical faithfulness and a disciple-making focus in the United Methodist Church, as sought by the founder of Methodism, John Wesley, and challenge those who would divert our church from the holy mission to which God has called us.

Stand with us for Biblically Faithful Methodism!

The United Methodist Church is facing a major crossroads as decades of internal theological divisions have reached a breaking point.  UMAction remains committed to contending for the faith once delivered (Jude 3) and the same causes we have always championed of biblical faithfulness, recovery of the treasures of our Wesleyan spiritual heritage, accountability in church leadership, and integrity as well as transparency in denominational governance.  One way or another, we are committed to helping lead as much of the United Methodist Church as we can into a faithful future of spiritual vitality, global connection, and renewed effectiveness in making disciples of Jesus Christ.

United Methodist Action

We seek to reform our denomination’s institutional approach to social and political issues to be more restrained, nuanced, non-partisan, and thoughtfully grounded in biblical and historic Christian teachings, in the spirit of the “On Humility, Politics, and Christian Unity” resolution. This statement of principles was written by UM Action’s current director, John Lomperis, and overwhelmingly adopted by the 2008 General Conference of the United Methodist Church.

UM Action is accountable to its Steering Committee and Advisory Board, both of which are entirely composed of faithful clergy and lay members of the United Methodist Church. For 2019-2021, this UM Action leadership consists of:

Sara Anderson, Jane and William Bonner, Dixie Brewster, Mary Byerman, Dr. Janice Crouse, Dan Fuller, Krystl Gauld, Rev. Dr. Philip Hardt, Dr. Richard Hoffman, Rev. Dr. Paul Jaw, Joe Kilpatrick, J. Robert Ladd, Rev. Ethan Larson, Charles Miller, Rev. Martin Nicholas, Jim Ottjes, Rev. Paul Stallsworth.

Karl Baumgardner, esq., Rev. Bill Bouknight, Rev. Riley Case, Rev. Dr. Ken Collins, Betsy and Gerald Kersey, Rev. Bob Land, Rev. Bob Parrott, Rev. Dr. Edmund Robb, T. Terrell Sessums, Faye Short, Helen Rhea Stumbo, Dr. John Stumbo, Rev. Donald Wildmon.

IRD Weekly Newsletter

A free digest of the week’s top articles from IRD President Mark Tooley